Running and Reading ðŸ‘ŸðŸ“–🏃🏾

Standard

    
So, I am starting to workout again, because I will be 30 this year and in light of (or despite, depending on how you view things) recent life events, I am determined to make this the year of my best me. Okay, so I stole that line from Oprah on a Hulu commercial, but that doesn’t make it less true. Haha. 

Anywho, so I’m starting to run to try and reconnect with my inner high school/early college athlete, and I was thinking of listening to an audiobook while running. Why not workout and slowly get rid of my ever growing TBR list, genius, right?

  
So, this is my personal experiment, hence the “part 1” in the title. A few days ago, when I was running I listened to Mindy Kaling’s Why Not Me? book, and I feel like my pace was slower, because I was slowing to listen intently and I was laughing.  Literally Lol. So, maybe YA or fiction would work better? I’ll try and post results and compare. I am using the Couch to 5k app, so I am looking at distance, since each workout has me walk and then run and each workout is the exact same time and I will do the workout at the same time of day, to eliminate other possible variables. I use the Nike Running app, for GPS purposes ( for safety, I run on levees) and can see my average speed. 

For Non- Fiction: I ran 2.04 miles with a 14:37 average pace (AGAIN, there is a lot of walking in the beginning trainings, do NOT judge! Haha. I know that time is horrible, and if I ran the whole thing it would be MUCH faster, but I’m trying to ease into a 5k. Lol)

I will try Fiction and see how that goes. Do you guys listen to audiobooks while running or working out? Any tips? Are some genres better than others for this? Let me know!
And, as always, “Get up, go out into the world, and do awesome shit.”

One thought on “Running and Reading ðŸ‘ŸðŸ“–🏃🏾

  1. You must not suffer motion sickness. Because, I get sick reading during a car ride/bus trip. I know I am not using my eyes while using my feet, but I’d still be using a reading part of my brain and be inclined to slow down to process the info. When listening to music, if I am concerned about the lyrics, I slow down. When I am using the beat to move my feet faster, I don’t focus on the words. In the case of an audio book, I would not be moving to the music; I’d be digesting spoken words like food. And, I cannot eat and jog at the same time.

    Like

Leave a Reply

