The Worst (a.k.a. Least Favorite) Books I’ve Never Read

Standard

PictureHello again! Before I start on the worst books that I’ve attempted to read, I just want to back track to my last post for a second. So, the picture to the left  is a pin that a co-worker sent me via Pinterest and I thought it was so me and so relevant based on my last post. The funny thing is that he does not read my blog  and thus had no idea of my non fictional emotions for fictional characters. He actually just sent it to me, because he thought I would like it and it seemed, to him, to fit my personality. He had no idea how right he was. So, thank you “JoAl*” (names have been altered as I did not get his permission to use his name in this blog and I cannot afford to pay him anything if, by chance, there’s some way he can sue me).

So, now to the business at hand. While I am fervently reading my many novels, I was talking to my friend “JiZi*” (See aforementioned disclaimer) and I was telling her about a question I got from another reader that asked “Are you only going to review books you love?” “JiZi” and I talked about books we hated or rather did not preferred not to read and we decided that I should do a post on books that I did not have a taste for.  Funny thing about books that I don’t like, I just don’t finish them. Seriously. I am an open-minded person and am willing to give any genre or book a try, but I don’t have to like them. Also, I read enough and know myself well enough to know when finishing a book is just not gonna happen for me. I have a couple of examples, (because I know you love examples). Haha.

belovedFirst example, Beloved by Toni Morrison. As I type this I am hoping that the literary gods do not strike me down for not liking this book. I just don’t get it. I have tried multiple times, I have watched the movie (which confused me more and if Oprah doesn’t help me understand it, then maybe it is not destined to be) and even had Spark Notes as supplemental help and I just don’t get it. I have never been more baffled by a book in my life. Before you  biblio-snobs get all high and mighty, I would like to say that I love and devoured The Bluest Eye, so I am not anti- Ms. Morrison, I’m just not feeling Beloved. Reading spoilers and commentaries online did not help and finding that there was a ghost somewhere in there, made me more confused than Jessica Simpson trying to find out if Chicken of the Sea was chicken or tuna (does anyone else remember that?). I’m sorry. I know she is the closest thing that novelists have to a saint, but I just can’t and I won’t subject myself to attempt to finish such a mind-boggling novel for the umpteenth time. I won’t do it and you can’t make me! ::insert child like tantrum here::

The second book, I picked up and then quickly put down, was blood canticleBlood Canticle by Anne Rice.  This book was  my friend’s book club, “Geeky Reads” selection (btw, feel free to join) and no one actually got through it. I had never read an Anne Rice novel, but this novel was supposed to be independent enough to where you can understand it without having read the prior Prince Lestat series.  Although this novel had too many characters introduced too early and a laundry list of issues to be resolved, I actually liked the Prince Lestat character/ narrator. He was funny ,sarcastic, and confident.  He gave a brief, yet detailed account of his activities and history for the readers that had not read the previous novels and had no problem admitting that he was no hero nor villain of the tale. Who doesn’t love a good anti-hero? He tries to save a family and has while breaking a curse, while training a newly changed vampire, while hiding, hunting ruthless vampires, while tracking down a mythical demon and the baby it kidnapped, while putting ghosts to rest, all in the name of his brotherly love for his oldest changed vampire. See what I mean? I only got to like the fourth chapter and all that unfolded with a plethora of characters, two of I think were dead and another dying.  There were too many characters, between past tense characters returning, newly deceased, current characters, 3 families in the South, dead matriarchs, and the ghost inhabitants of 2 mansions, I found myself flipping back through the novel to remember who Dorothy was and how she fit into the story.  With that said, I would not mind reading a different Lestat novel.  See? I told you I was open-minded!

So yeah, those are the “worst” a.k.a. least favorite books. What are yours? What novels or genres do you just not particularly like or care for? Let me know in the comments below!

Leave a Reply

