I am a Book Polygamist

Standard

Girl sitting in large pile of booksI am a book polygamist. I try to read multiple books at one time. How and why? Well, I’ll tell you. For the how part, I usually, have at least 3 books going at once. They usually consist of an audiobook, a real physical book and an eBook. I listen to the audiobook while cooking, cleaning, driving, and anytime where wearing headphones is not a social faux pas. I read the physical book when I can, while waiting in line, at DMV or doctor’s appointments, or between classes. And I usually read the eBook before bed and when I forget to bring my physical book with me. If I am especially backed up, like now, I will get the audio book and other form of book of the same novel, as I can get through it faster. Why? Well, I am not the world’s fastest reader and I have a bit of literary ADD where I will start a book and then see or hear about another cool shiny book and go pick that one up without finishing the first. The old book is then left in the dust, while I frolic in the sunshine with the new book. Sorry, theoretical old book, it wasn’t you, it was me.  Case in point, Cinder by Marissa Meyer. I started Cinder summer of last year and then had a bookish side track and didn’t pick Cinder back up until after Christmas (after the urging of my friend/ co worker) and finished right before the New Year. Mind you, there wan’t anything wrong with the story. It was great and I very much so am looking forward to reading the whole series, especially with the newest book coming out this year. What had happened was…. I heard about Robert Galbraith aka J.K. Rowling’s pen name for her Detective Cormoran Strike series and HAD to read both novels! It’s J.K. Freaking Rowling, people! Can you blame me?
Right now I am committing the hugest book polygamy of my life,as I am trying to cram as many books as possible before my college semester starts. As I have stated before, I am doing the Book Riot Read Harder Challenge and so here are the books that are going to by brother husbands (Is that the male version of sister wives? Sounds weird) for the time being:

Horrostor by Grady Hendrix (physical book)
Horns by Joe Hill (audiobook)
Self Inflicted Wounds by AIsha Tyler (audiobook) (my IDOL, btw)
Long Walk To Freedom by Nelson Mandela (audio and eBook)
Americanah by Chiamanda Ngozi Adichie (eBook)
The Heart Does Not Grow Back by Fred Venturini (physical book)
Pride, Prejudice and Zombies by Seth Grahame- Smith (audio and physical book)
Murder at the Boo Group by Maggie King (physical book)
Don’t Look Back by Karin Fossum (eBook)

See? I told you I was doing a lot! We will see which ones I can get through and which ones fall to the wayside. I will try to write a post as I finish and then we can discuss and give feedback on what we (I) thought. Random side note, I also have on order Moriarty by Anthony Horowitz, so hopefully some books can get cleared out before that one arrives!  Also: here is a link the the Book Riot video talking about reading multiple books :

Are you a book polygamist or monogamist or what? Let me know!

3 thoughts on “I am a Book Polygamist

  1. Below are the comments I’ve received previously from my other blog regarding this topic:

    Maria Z.01/14/2015 3:10pm
    Hi hollie! My name is Maria and I love books. I’m not going to classify myself under monogomist or polygamous because I have a baby and it’s very difficult to read. I read when I can and I like to read books that aren’t tending. I haven’t nor plan on ready any harry potter books or the hunger games. I am in love with nicholas sparks and I love the girl with the dragon tattoo series. I am excited to be following your book blog Hollie!!! You are very informative when it comes to books!!!!

    Like

  2. Jillian!01/13/2015 10:25pm
    I am DEFINITELY a book monogamist. I just am not great at juggling lots of books at one time. Instead I just read really fast so I can move on to the next temptation! Love your list. Can’t wait to see reviews, especially of Horrostör!

    Like

  3. Rosie P 01/14/2015 7:05pm
    Digging the post! I may join you in reading a few of the books on your current list. Especially intrigued by Horrorstor. Is it a library find? As for my reading habits, I would classify myself more as a swinger – I am severly dedicated to one book but may, on occasion and with permission of first book, pick up another for a brief tryst.

    Like

Leave a Reply

